How Many Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria

How Many Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria
Spread the love

Nigeria is made up of 6 geopolitical zones and this division was created by late President Sani Abacha for easy economic, political, and resource control sharing formulas.

The 6 geo political zones are: 

  • North-West: Kebbi, Sokoto, Katsina, Kaduna, Kano, Jigawa, and Zamfara states
  • North-East: Taraba, Adamawa, Borno, Yobe, Bauchi, and Gombe states.
  • South-West: Oyo, Lagos, Osun, Ogun, Ondo, and Ekiti states.
  • South-South: Edo, Delta, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Rivers, Akwa-Ibom,
  • South-East: Anambra, Enugu, Imo, Ebonyi, and Abia states
  • North-Central/Middle Belt: Abuja FCT, Nasarawa, Kogi, Kwara, Benue, Niger, and Plateau states.

Despite this arrangement, some states like Kogi and Benue have continued to argue that they are not 

northerners.  but the facts remains unchanged till date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!