How Many Local Governments are in Nigeria

How Many Local Governments are in Nigeria?

In total, Nigeria has exactly 774 local governments (LGAs) chaired by the Local Government Council.

The Local Government Council is composed of the Local Government Chairman, who is the Boss, you can call him the Chief Executive of the LGAs and other elected Councillors representing wards.

In each of the areas within an LGA we have a minimum of 10 wards and a maximum of 15 wards. 

The underlisted are some selected list of LGAs we have in Nigeria.

  • Abadam Borno State
  • Abaji Federal Capital Territory
  • Abak Akwa Ibom State 
  • Abakaliki Ebonyi State
  • Aba North Abia State
  • Aba South Abia State
  • Abeokuta North Ogun State
  • Abeokuta South Ogun State
  • Abi Cross River State
  • Aboh Mbaise Imo State
  • Abua/Odual Rivers State
  • Abuja Federal Capital Territory
  • Adavi Kogi State
  • Ado Ekiti Ekiti State
  • Ado-Odo/Ota Ogun State
  • Afijio Oyo State
  • Afikpo North Ebonyi State
  • Afikpo South ( Edda ) Ebonyi State
  • Agaie Niger State
  • Agatu Benue State
  • Agwara Niger State
  • Agege Lagos State
  • Aguata Anambra State
  • Ahiazu Mbaise Imo State
  • Ahoada East Rivers State
  • Ahoada West Rivers State
  • Ajaokuta Kogi State
  • Ajeromi-Ifelodun Lagos State
  • Ajingi Kano State
  • Akamkpa Cross River State 
  • Akinyele Oyo State
  • Akko Gombe State
  • Akoko-Edo Edo State
  • Akoko North-East Ondo State
  • Akoko North-West Ondo State
  • Akoko South-West Ondo State
  • Akoko South-East Ondo State
  • Akpabuyo Cross River State 
  • Akuku-Toru Rivers State
  • Akure North Ondo State
  • Akure South Ondo State
  • Akwanga Nasarawa State
  • Albasu Kano State
  • Aleiro Kebbi State
  • Alimosho Lagos State
  • Alkaleri Bauchi State
  • Amuwo-Odofin Lagos State
  • Anambra East Anambra State
  • Anambra West Anambra State
  • Anaocha Anambra State
  • Andoni Rivers State
  • Aninri Enugu State
  • Aniocha North Delta State
  • Aniocha South Delta State
  • Anka Zamfara State
  • Ankpa Kogi State
  • Apa Benue State
  • Apapa Lagos State
  • Ado Benue State
  • Ardo Kola Taraba State
  • Arewa Dandi Kebbi State
  • Argungu Kebbi State
  • Arochukwu Abia State
  • Asa Kwara State
  • Asari-Toru Rivers State
  • Askira/Uba Borno State
  • Atakunmosa East Osun State
  • Atakunmosa West Osun State
  • Atiba Oyo State
  • Atisbo Oyo State
  • Augie Kebbi State
  • Auyo Jigawa State
  • Awe Nasarawa State
  • Awgu Enugu State
  • Awka North Anambra State
  • Awka South Anambra State
  • Ayamelum Anambra State
  • Aiyedaade Osun State
  • Aiyedire Osun State
  • Babura Jigawa State
  • Badagry Lagos State
  • Bagudo Kebbi State
  • Bagwai Kano State
  • Bakassi Cross River State [
  • Bokkos Plateau State

e.t.c, the list of LGAs go on and on…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!